Virtual Kim

@Kim_Bottu … Virtually Gung Ho

VCAP6-DCV DESIGN – Beta exam

For weeks I had been looking forward to the release of the VCAP6-DCV Design Beta Exam. Joy filled me when I had an exam date confirmed.

I have just walked out from the examination center. It’s done, the exam has been written. I had 30 minutes to spare. Not that that means that I feel confident that I have passed the exam.  I just don’t belief in changing answers, is all.

9 Design exercises and 22 drag and drops.

So what are my impressions?

If you feel that VCAP5-DCD was the hardest exam ever and you are hoping that the VCAP6-DCV Design exam will be any easier… I have some bad news for you. It’s harder, a lot harder but mostly because of the amount of information which has increased considerably in vSphere 6.

Anyway I have left the exam center with some major impressions:

1. Forget about taking shortcuts and studying the bare minimum for VCAP6-DCV Design. I know some people actually have passed the VCAP5-DCD exam studying only the minimum but if you do likewise for the VCAP6-DCV Design exam, I can assure you of a success ratio of: minimal.
2. The exam components in the design exercises often do not stick. When I was dragging an item around,  the items on top of that item just didn’t move along with it. So if you make a design and you drag items to other zones and they don’t stick, start again.
3. A  lot of the exam lies in the details. Studying only the design concepts of vSphere 6 will probably lead to failure. Ps:  I read white papers and basically any document I can get my hands on and still some information I just didn’t have.
4. Some answers you won’t find in the VMWARE white papers but you know them because you design virtual infrastructure for a living.
5. My last impression: this exam seems to focus more on current architects compared to the VCAP5-DCD exam.. but that might be a personal thing.

15 comments on “VCAP6-DCV DESIGN – Beta exam

  1. Tim
    March 1, 2016

    Thanks Kim. Just kindly want to check if we can mark the question to answer later

    Like

  2. Admin
    March 1, 2016

    Hey Tim, before taking the Beta test you are asked to sign a Non Disclusure Agreement. So unfortunately we (the beta testers) cannot talk about the actual questions.

    Like

    • tim
      March 1, 2016

      thanks kim, i am only asking if the exam engine allows you to go back to the previous question.(skip and answer the question later) 😀😀😀. It is all good i wish we both will pass the exam.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Admin
    March 1, 2016

    Hey Tim, sorry for not understanding your question immediately:

    Yes you can mark a question and return to it later. No problems there!

    Like

  4. rtc81
    March 1, 2016

    Congratulations and thank you for the impressions!

    I just looking forward for the VCP5 certificate 🙃

    Like

    • Admin
      March 1, 2016

      Unfortunately it will take weeks before we know the resuls. Everyone allowed to take the beta exam has first to write the exam and then it will take another 4 to 6 weeks for VMware Education to assess all exams. But tnx!
      Good luck with the VCAP5-DCD exam!

      Liked by 1 person

      • rtc81
        March 1, 2016

        Will be a long time for you, but believe in you!
        Thank you, after my Upgrade to 2012R2 I had to read a lot of books therefore 🙃

        Like

      • Admin
        March 1, 2016

        Have u already joined the Google + group for VCAP-DCD?

        Like

      • rtc81
        March 12, 2016

        Kim, do you think the VCP and VCAP 5 will be available in 1-2 years? Or soon VCP and VCAP 6 will overtake them? I am asking, because I think about the premium VCP and VCAP 5 books. Thx. Great weekend

        Like

      • Admin
        March 12, 2016

        I have no idea for how long VCP5-DCV and VCAP5-DCD will be around. But I do not think they will be around for another 2 years.

        Like

  5. rtc81
    March 1, 2016

    Sorry Kim, I mean the beginners VCP5 DCV😕

    Like

  6. Salah
    March 19, 2016

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Like

  7. Mike
    October 13, 2016

    I can personally attest to the items not sticking into other objects on the GA version of the test. I had countless items not stick in all of my designs. I did not know to start over or that they “had” to stick to count and can’t think to wonder how many points I lost because of this. No surprise I failed but only by a little and I think had I known about the stickiness of these objects, I just might have passed..

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2016 by in VCIX6-DCV and tagged .
Follow Virtual Kim on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 26,240 hits
